Puzzler’s Wednesday – Neville Fogarty

Neville

Welcome back – after a brief hiatus we return this week to our Puzzler’s Wednesday series with all-round puzzler, Neville Fogarty.

  1. How would you describe yourself in one sentence?

I’m a Ph.D. student studying mathematics at the University of Kentucky.

  1. When did you start solving and making puzzles?

My mom taught me how to solve crossword puzzles the summer after my first year of college. I started trying to make crosswords during my sophomore year, and sold my first puzzle to the Los Angeles Times the following summer. I started in on solving cryptics a year or two later; I remember working on a book of cryptics before choir practice during my senior year.

  1. What is your favorite kind of puzzle to solve/create?

One of my favorite types of puzzles to solve is a variety puzzle called Some Assembly Required; it combines a crossword with a jigsaw puzzle. I’ve written two of these, and they are by far my least favorite type of puzzle to write. I love a challenge, but yikes! What a pain! I think my favorite type to write is just a standard, themed American crossword, with lots of clean, interesting fill. Really, any puzzle that’s fair and filled with fun but gettable clues and answers is a puzzle I’ll enjoy. I don’t think I’m too hard to please.

  1. Tell us a little bit about your latest published puzzles?

I’ve been spending a lot of time on my math research lately, but I’ve found a bit of time to write the occasional puzzle. I’ve written a few puzzles for BuzzFeed (http://www.buzzfeed.com/nevillefogarty), which launched its own crossword last month. The puzzles are aimed at a younger audience that’s new to puzzling; I think it’s nice to have a new outlet for crosswords targeting a new generation of solvers.

  1. A cryptic clue that always stayed with you?

This one’s from an edition of the Rainbow Charity Puzzles (http://www.rainbowcharitypuzzles.co.uk/) from a few years back: Shows variation of time on maps (10)*

  1. Favorite constructor?

Patrick Berry, hands down. I have never been dissatisfied by a Patrick Berry puzzle. Great themed puzzles. Superb themeless. Excellent cryptics. And wonderful variety puzzles, many of his own invention. Check out some of his work here: http://aframegames.com/store/?page_id=63 (And if you’ve never solved “Middle of the Road,” make that a priority.)

  1. What do you like to do when you’re not doing puzzles?

During what free time I have, I love playing board and video games with my friends.

  1. If you could have dinner with one famous person who would choose?

I think I’d go with Jesus. (And I’d hope he could speak English!)

  1. If you had a superpower what would it be?

Teleportation would be really neat. Being able to travel anywhere instantly (for free!) would be both really useful and fun!

  1. What’s your personal motto?

No opportunity wasted.

  1. Links you’d like to share (website, puzzle, etc.)

Certainly! Here’s my latest puzzle, called “+2” which ran in the most recent edition of the Chronicle of Higher Education. PUZ: http://chronicle.com/items/biz/puzzles/20151113.puz, PDF: http://chronicle.com/items/biz/pdf/20151113.pdf

Also, here’s a link to my infrequently updated website, where I used to post puzzles. You can still access them there. (I am going through a bit of reorganizing, so if you hit on a dead link, please let me know!): https://nevillefogarty.wordpress.com/

*Solution to cryptic clue: PANTOMIMES

About paws4puzzles

I'm a writer and puzzle maker. I am the author of a YA fantasy series, P.A.W.S. and my puzzles have been published in many magazines from Dell and Penny Press and on the walls of the Eltana cafe in Seattle. My most recent release is a book of logic problems, Paws4Logic which I wrote together with my son, Joey.
This entry was posted in Puzzler's Wednesday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Puzzler’s Wednesday – Neville Fogarty

  1. paws4puzzles says:

    Reblogged this on Paws4Thought and commented:

    Over on my puzzle blog – it’s Puzzler’s Wednesday with Neville Fogarty.

    Like

Leave a Reply

