Puzzler’s Wednesday – Martin DeMello

martin

Today on Puzzler’s Wednesday we welcome Martin Demello. Tell us a little bit about yourself, Martin?

I’m a software engineer by day and a geek by night. Which I guess makes me a full-time geek 🙂

When did you start solving and making puzzles?

When I was pretty young; I’ve pretty much always been interested in them. I grew up reading Yakov Perelman’s and Martin Gardner’s wonderful recreational maths and puzzle books.

How did you first get started with cryptics?

My mother used to do the newspaper cryptic when I was a kid, and I learnt by sitting with her and having her explain how she was solving it. (The best way – that’s how my kids are learning about cryptics too. DMK)

Do you like to solve/create other kinds of puzzles too?

Yes, I love creating all sorts of word puzzles, and have recently gotten into puzzle hunts as well.

A cryptic clue that always stayed with you?

From Rufus, in the Guardian: Uncommonly tight? (5, 2, 1, 4)*

Favorite constructor?

I like a lot of the Guardian constructors. Can’t pick just one, but Bonxie, Paul, Arachne and of course Rufus are all delightful.­

What do you like to do when you’re not doing puzzles?

I read a lot, especially science fiction and fantasy.

If you could have dinner with one famous person who would choose?

Probably Cory Doctorow; because we have so many interests in common.

If you had a superpower what would it be?

If I could pick any one? Either flight or teleportation.

What’s your personal motto?

It’s always nice to be appreciated

*Answer – [DRUNK AS A LORD]

Click here to solve a cryptic by Martin DeMello originally created for the special anniversary souvenir for the Facebook group 1Across. Martin is an active admin in both 1Across and the Cryptic Crossword Society.

About paws4puzzles

I'm a writer and puzzle maker. I am the author of a YA fantasy series, P.A.W.S. and my puzzles have been published in many magazines from Dell and Penny Press and on the walls of the Eltana cafe in Seattle. My most recent release is a book of logic problems, Paws4Logic which I wrote together with my son, Joey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

