Puzzler’s Wednesday – Sowmya Ramkumar

Sowmya

Tell us a little bit about yourself?

I am a financial consultant living in the Middle East. I set cryptic crosswords for an Indian publication. I run the Facebook group 1ACross along with a few other cruciverbalists.

When did you start solving and making puzzles?

I have always been interested in puzzles of all kinds but have a special fondness for cryptic crossword puzzles which fascinated me at a pretty young age – while still in school. About two years ago, I rediscovered cryptic crosswords through the Cryptic Crossword Society on Facebook. I also started setting special crosswords based on brand names for The Hindu Businessline’s (HBL) brand supplement – called Cat.a.lyst. I have been setting one per week over the last 18 months and recently published my 80th grid.

What was your first published puzzle?

My first brand crossword was published in print in Jan. 2014. It’s available at http://www.thehindubusinessline.com/catalyst/catalyst-crossword-1/article5732587.ece

Tell us a little bit about your FB group 1ACross?

1ACross (https://www.facebook.com/groups/308213076015104/) is a group for seasoned crossword setters and solvers. I started it on 28th July 2014 along with Lakshmi Vaidyanathan who is also a setter / solver whom I met online at CCS. We began running themed games every day from the day we started and have grown gradually with an emphasis on the quality of setters and clues.

I am proud to say that a number of top class setters and solvers are members and it’s a very close knit group. We have done a few community grids and also recently celebrated our first anniversary with an in-house Souvenir which featured 15 cryptic grids, interviews with setters and a collection of great clues posted over the last twelve months.

A cryptic clue that always stayed with you?

There are many favourites.

Here’s one by Araucaria – Dab a (7)*

Favorite constructor?

Araucaria – I am always a sucker for the A-ha moment from some of his really devious clues, like the one above, though they didn’t follow established cryptic grammar.

What do you like to do when you’re not doing puzzles?

I enjoy my time spent with family and friends. I love reading, listening to music and playing games like canasta and scrabble. My husband and I love travelling and visiting new places.

If you could have dinner with one famous person who would you choose?

I would love to have dinner with my all time favourite author, PG Wodehouse.

If you had a superpower what would it be?

Power to teleport myself wherever I want to..

What’s your personal motto?

When the going gets tough, the tough get going..

Would you like to share a puzzle with us here at Paws4Puzzles?

Here’s the link to a puzzle I created for the 1ACross souvenir – http://crossword.info/somsram/Puzzle5

Here’s a link to my published crosswords at http://www.thehindubusinessline.com/author/sowmya-ramkumar/article6670015.ece

How can puzzlers connect with you?

You can reach me by email at somsram@yahoo.com

*Ans: Lumbago (A Bad<< back…)

About paws4puzzles

I'm a writer and puzzle maker. I am the author of a YA fantasy series, P.A.W.S. and my puzzles have been published in many magazines from Dell and Penny Press and on the walls of the Eltana cafe in Seattle. My most recent release is a book of logic problems, Paws4Logic which I wrote together with my son, Joey.
This entry was posted in Puzzler's Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Puzzler’s Wednesday – Sowmya Ramkumar

  1. Pingback: Puzzler’s Wednesday – Lakshmi Vaidyanathan | Paws 4 Puzzles

Leave a Reply

