Puzzling from A to Z – Day 3 – C is for Cryptic Crosswords!

C

A rerun today as I need to get ready for Passover!

As some folks here know I grew up in England, so from a fairly young age I started trying to decode the mysteries of the cryptic crossword. Cryptics follow a distinct of rules that may be daunting to new solvers, but once mastered there is nothing more satisfying than that aha moment when you finally get the answer.

If you would like to learn how to solve cryptics. Here is a good place to start: http://www.crosswordunclued.com/2008/08/tackling-cryptic-crosswords-7-step_11.html

xwordsunclued

Here are a few of my own cryptic puzzles:

And Then There Were Eight – this was my first cryptic published in the Enigma (magazine of the National Puzzlers’ League).

Here is a little Cryptic Cone puzzle.

And we as approach Passover, here’s a little cryptic I wrote for Passover 2013.

But wait, there’s more. Everyday on Facebook hundreds of folk from around the globe fritter their hours away by setting and solving cryptic clues for each other in Facebook’s Cryptic Crossword Society – come join us!

Often times cryptic clues are based on puns – so here’s a BroCollie and a Collieflower – enjoy!

BrocCollie and Collieflower

About paws4puzzles

I'm a writer and puzzle maker. I am the author of a YA fantasy series, P.A.W.S. and my puzzles have been published in many magazines from Dell and Penny Press and on the walls of the Eltana cafe in Seattle. My most recent release is a book of logic problems, Paws4Logic which I wrote together with my son, Joey.
This entry was posted in Blogging from A to Z, Cryptics, Puzzles and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Puzzling from A to Z – Day 3 – C is for Cryptic Crosswords!

  1. clicksclan says:

    I quite enjoy doing crosswords though I never used to be able to do cryptic ones, until I started pinching one of my Mum-in-Law’s magazines which has one crossword with two sets of clues; one ‘normal’ and the other cryptic and suddently I was able to see how they were coming up with the clues. 🙂

    Cait @ Click’s Clan

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Adorable veggie canines! I had never heard of a cryptic crossword before now.
    Life & Faith in Caneyhead
    I am Ensign B ~ One of Tremp’s Troops with the
    A to Z Challenge

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hello there.
    I used to love doing all the crossword puzzles when I was younger. They’re excellent for keeping the old brain cells from deteriorating (lol). I just don’t have the time anymore. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

