Summer School Lessons

Today was my son Joey’s last day of summer school. One of his classes this summer was called “Sim City Experience”. He had thought when he signed up it would be something related to the computer game (my kid’s a computer nerd!) He was surprised when he went to the first class and discovered they were going to “play town”.

Each kid would choose a occupation – make a plan and watch their business grow. Joey was excited about this and decided that he would start a puzzle business. He started creating wordseeks and crosswords and put together a plan to run a complete puzzle hunt. I was proud of my kid – but by the end of the first week he seemed a little glum.

“What’s wrong?” I asked. “Well,” he said “I managed to sell one of my crosswords to the newspaper, but all the other kids have cars and I’m still using public transport!”

Joey had discovered what I of course already know, what all us puzzlers know – that puzzles aren’t going to make him rich! The kid who had chosen to be a plumber – he of course, by the end of the class, was a millionaire!

About paws4puzzles

I'm a writer and puzzle maker. I am the author of a YA fantasy series, P.A.W.S. and my puzzles have been published in many magazines from Dell and Penny Press and on the walls of the Eltana cafe in Seattle. My most recent release is a book of logic problems, Paws4Logic which I wrote together with my son, Joey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

